Film production tax credit approved for eastern NY counties

ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) – The state Legislature has approved an expansion of state movie production tax credits to eight eastern New York counties after a lobbying effort that included numerous celebrities from the Hudson Valley and Catskills.

The state budget in 2014 created a 10 percent film tax credit for much of upstate New York, but it didn’t include Sullivan, Ulster, and six other counties from Orange to Warren.

A letter urging expansion of the credit was signed by over 30 entertainment professionals including actors Chevy Chase, Debra Winger, Mark Ruffalo and Aidan Quinn.

The state Assembly passed the bill expanding the Empire State Film Production Tax Credit program Wednesday night. The Senate already passed the measure, which now awaits Democratic Gov. Andrew Cuomo’s signature.

Comments are closed.