Govt to Provide Assistance to Film Sector in State

By Express News Service

KOTTAYAM: Chief Minister Oommen Chandy has said that the government would provide all assistance to promote the film industry, which caters the entertainment needs of the common man. He was speaking after inaugurating the valedictory function of the regional edition of the International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK), organised by the Kerala State Chalachitra Academy, in Kottayam on Sunday.

According to the Chief Minister, the government is bound to promote the film sector in the state. He added that the government has been implementing the recommendations in the report submitted by the Adoor Gopalakrishnan Committee, constituted to recommend suggestions for the inclusive development of the film sector. He added that the government has also decided to increase the cash prize of the state film awards as well.

Cinema and Forest Minister Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan, who presided over the function, said that government would provide all the support to young generation, who comes forth to make films with good themes.

“The government would provide basic facilities and other assistance for them,” he said. Thiruvanchoor added that distribution pensions for film workers, which have been pending for a while, will be resumed from April this year. He also said the government would initiate steps to digitalise old films as well. Chief Minister honoured film director K G George by presenting lifelong achievement award to him at the function. The national film award winning personalities from Kottayam, including Prem Prakash, Rajeevnath, Pradeep Nair, Raju Mathew, P S Radhakrishnan, Joy Thomas, Dennis Joseph, Jayaraj, T K Rajeev Kumar, M P Sukumaran and Joshy Mathew were also facilitated on the occasion.

Chalachitra Academy secretary S Rajendran Nair introduced the IFFK award winners Siddharth Siva, K M Manoj, Sudevan and Sajin Babu on the occasion. Academy chairman Rajeevnath presented the review report of the film festival. Jose K Mani, K Suresh Kurup MLA, Kottayam municipal chairman K R G Warrier, district panchayat vice-president Biju Punnathanam, MACTA chairman G S Vijayan, film personalities Prem Prakash, Babu Namboothiri and Niveditha also spoke.

Academy vice-chairman Joshy Mathew welcomed the gathering and its executive member Aryadan Shoukkath proposed a vote of thanks.

As many as 1700 delegates participated in the festival, which screened 37 films.

Comments are closed.